Weekly OCDrama Digest 4 – 10 November

Hello, hello! The blog has been rather quiet this week, real life and all that. Another week, another round-up:

1. Gong Yoo’s in a new movie called The Suspect due for release in December. I mentioned this last week, but this is really an excuse to post this:

Gong Yoo Suspect Stills

I paraphrase a commenter on Dramabeans–it’s literally chocolate abs! LOL. Have you seen the teaser? It reminds me of the Bourne movies. Which would be a good thing because I liked the Bourne films, but I also hope to see something uniquely Korean, if you know what I mean. Which brings me to…

FiveKimSunAh

2….Kim Sun Ah’s new flick, The Five. I have a fondness for Korean revenge thrillers. I’m simultaneously repulsed, thrilled, and moved, when I watch the very best of them. And The Five sounds right up my alley, so this reviewer tells me . Plus, it’s Kim Sun freakin’ Ah, my lovely Sam Soon, who plays a mother-turned-avenging angel when her family is killed by–what else?–a crazed serial killer. Can’t wait.

SNSDYoutubeAwards2013

3. Girls Generation won a big international award this week, the first YouTube Music Awards for Video of the Year beating Justin Bieber, One Direction, Miley Cyrus, Lady Gaga and more. If there was any doubt about the power of K-pop fans, let that now be put to rest. The award is chosen based on ‘fan engagement’–stuff like the number of likes, shares, etc–which places K-pop in the best position to take centre stage since k-pop fans live, breathe, consume and mobilise for K-pop through the internet. While SNSD fans rejoiced, losing fandoms took to twitter to vent in predictably racist fashion, mostly of the “who dem *insert random East Asian nationality* chicks? Go do something stereotypically Asian-y.” The worst, I thought, was this: “CHING CHONGS INVADING MY MENTIONS SOMEONE WHY DIDNT THEY DIE WHEN AMERICA NUKED THEM.” Wait, this is 2013, right?

4. This really broke my heart. koreaBang translated news of a woman soldier who committed suicide after being sexually harassed by her superior officer. A Congresswoman leaked her suicide note which detailed the soldier’s having to endure months of torture until her body was found in October. This comes weeks after news of a pregnant soldier’s death while on duty which sparked debates on women in the military, who are relative newcomers but are increasing in numbers. Sexual violence in the military is prevalent, and not just women suffer. This shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone who sees the military as a system of weaponised masculinity run amok. It’s like Empire High in Heirs, where the women and other subordinate humans from lower social classes are the collateral damage from the big boys dicking around. Except in the military the boys have guns.

5.  In lighter news, it seems that Malaysian singer-songwriter Zee Avi’s songs were used for scenes in The Good Doctor and The Master’s Sun! She’s now based in the US, but she’s from Sarawak which you might know as part of Borneo. Do visit if you get the chance. It’s beautiful and the people are lovely, and my country should treat it and it’s people better. But that’s another story for another day. For now, do listen to Zee Avi’s ‘Bitterheart’ used in TMS

and ‘Siboh Kitak Nangis’ (No Need to Cry) which was used in TGD

15 thoughts on “Weekly OCDrama Digest 4 – 10 November

  1. Hei,
    I’ve been keeping up with your blog posts but have pretty much stopped watching both Heirs and Marry Him If You Dare. BUT! I still watch episodes of The Master’s Sun every day. I can’t seem to get over it. Now, after reading your post about Zee Avi, I gotta rewatch TMS just to see when it was used. Hee hee I like both songs by the way and will check out her other songs.
    I read about the GG things and was really surprised. But then again, what can be expected right?
    The new Kim Sun Ah movie looks interesting but I’m wishing there was a way for me to watch No Breathing. Have you seen it yet?

    Like

    • Hi Kat! You gave up on Heirs and Mirae? Not enough jollies?? I’m still in for the long haul though, eventhough both shows have hit some roadblocks, hope it’ll be worth it :).

      You aren’t over TMS it seems! I completely understand though, I’ve been obsessed with dramas that took a long time to get out of my system. But TMS, I liked it alot, but I didn’t LOVE it. I did love the pair though. I would’ve followed them to the ends of the earth! 😉

      No Breathing? Hmm lots of eye candy, but I’m not sure sports movies interest me enough, so no haven’t seen it, and it hasn’t come to cinemas here yet, if ever. Thank goodness for the internet and torrents! 🙂

      Like

      • I don’t know what it is about the new dramas that are not catching my attention more. Marry Him if You Dare seems just like my kind of drama but at the end of each episode I’m not compelled or excited about the next episode. There were moments but funnily enough the moments were from the alternate past-future that got to me. I have been following the recaps but it seems like the Dramabeans recappers are feeling the same thing.

        As for Heirs, I don’t know if it is because I am not in the mood for this kind of drama or maybe it’s because Young Do, up to the last episode that I watched (ep. 6) , still scared me. I was afraid he was going to take things a little too far, so far that he can not be redeemed. Should I pick it back up?

        Yeah, I’m not over TMS and it’s definitely for the love I have for the main leads that has kept the fire burning. hee hee. I rewatched a few eps of TMS after watching Personal Taste. I’ve been in sick in bed with the flu the last two days so I decided to pick it up. I ended up watching TMS again because the two CEO’s in this drama were sporting Joo Joong Won wear: suit with no tie but an ascot. Had to see JJW again because the other two were not doing it justice. lol Oh and I haven’t picked up the Zee Avi song yet.

        Like

      • I know what you mean about Mirae coz it’s the same for me, but I really really do like it alot, especially the latest episodes. I feel like it’s got a lot to say, which is a rare, and it’s been consistent and solid each week. And I like all the characters (except for Future Mirae, but whatever!) and I root for them all, another rare thing!

        As for Heirs, hmm… I’m hesitant to recommend anything at this point! Last week took the shine off, and I dunno where the show is headed. I’m frustrated by the so-called love triangle between Kim Tan, Eun Sang and Young Do which has them running around in circles doing the same damn thing which is playing ping pong with Eun Sang as the ball. ARGH. The show has made all the leads terribly unsympathetic at this point, although I have my fingers crossed because there was something about Kim Tan and Eun Sang’s Cali romance that I liked and hope the show recaptures. And yes Young Do is a freak, but he’s being played so well by Kim Woo Bin that I love it when he’s on screen! It adds a jolt of excitement! I don’t think he’ll be redeemed at this point, but he does seem like he has a heart somewhere inside of him!

        Sorry to hear you’ve been ill. I was really sick two weeks ago so I started watching Secret just to see what all the fuss was about. And that was … interesting. Watching it is like rubbernecking at an accident, you just can’t look away although it makes you feel kinda shitty, at least for me. Sigh.

        Like

  2. Ooh, I like Zee Avi’s voice! So smoky & rich. Yay that she’s gettin’ some love in our kdramas.. though I hafta admit, I’m now watching Master’s Sun & I don’t recall hearing that song.. Maybe I’m just not there yet? I do still have several more eps to go..

    Nice round-up! Those choco abs deserve all the attention 😉 The suicide thing.. gah. Awful. Sadness. :/

    Like

    • Yes I didn’t spot the song either, but I trust BuletinKpop’s ears more than mine! Isn’t she fabulous? She’s a tiny thing too, all that talent in a compact frame. As for Gong Yoo, I’m anticipating him popping up more frequently around these parts! Hmmmm parts, GY’s lovely parts… *slaps self*

      And the suicide thing, I just read that a girl committed suicide over the college entrance exams last week. Whyyyyyy…. Sigh.

      Like

      • Oh noes. Seriously. This is one trend that has to stop. Suicide is way too drastic & permanent a solution to any sorts of problems, big as said problems may appear to be. Sad stuff :/

        I’m expecting more GY goodness all-around too, actually.. With Suspect due out on Christmas Eve, this can only mean more GY in all forms of media, no? And that can only mean more happiness for us, yes? ^.~

        Like

      • I know! I’m sure there are suicides every year around exam time, but this is the first time I’m reading about it since I started following K-news, it’s just awful to read.

        Is Suspect out X’mas eve? Oh wow, what an excellent pressie! Singapore gets a lot of k-movies, will it open there? It’s a blockbuster too, so more chances of getting a wide release, I’m hoping.

        Like

  3. Pingback: I’m Back and other Shenanigans | bright little world
  4. I am not a k-pop fan but occasionally I might enjoy listening to some k-pop songs. Having said that and having watched the article you posted and the acceptance video all I can say is “Shame to those people.”. How could they say all those racist and ignorant things? And people couldn’t even politely applaud when she accepted the award? Really? Is that what youtube is all about? I thought that youtube was created to give the chance to everyone to express themselves..
    Ignorance is not a bliss after all..
    As for the suicides and the way things work in the army is just sad and frustrating. We live in 2013, people shouldn’t be doing all those things, people should behave like human beings..
    And on a lighter note, it is always a good idea to try to find an excuse to post these kind of pictures of Gong Yoo. Always!

    Like

  5. DDee, I finally found a drama that I’m excited about: Suspicious Housewife. I didn’t think I would like it but dramatroll’s memes on tumblr piqued my interest andfive episodes in I’m hooked. The show has interesting characters, some are a bit over the top, some are hateful and pathetic, and others, the housekeeper, in particular, keeps me guessing all the time. At the end of each episode there is a cliffhanger so I’m always left feeling like I have to watch the next episode! Overall, the character’s inner struggles, pain and “humanness” is making me invest in their personal growth through the drama.

    This is a longer drama, unconfirmed at 20 episodes, so I don’t know if I made the right decision or not but we shall see. The show is dealing with the topic of suicide quite a bit in how one chooses to follow through the act or not and the effects suicide has on those left behind.

    Just starting episode 8 now…oooo…drama!

    Like

    • Glad you’ve found something to move on to! Isn’t it a relief 🙂 ? That show was on my list since I’d heard good things about the Japanese original. But it just fell by the wayside in the craziness of sept/oct debuts. 20 episodes huh? That’s a long journey! And suicides?! I hope that’s being handled well. Not an easy task.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Weekly OCDrama Digest 11– 17 November | obsessive compulsive (k)drama-watching disorder
  7. Pingback: Weekly OCD Drama Digest 18 – 24 November | obsessive compulsive (k)drama-watching disorder
  8. Pingback: Weekly OCD Drama Digest 25 Nov – 1 December | obsessive compulsive (k)drama-watching disorder

Let's obsess!

