Weekly OCD Drama Digest 25 Nov – 1 December

Annyeong! How did dramaland treat you this week? Mine felt pretty blah, so I marathoned School 2013 and I think I’ve found my vote for the year’s best drama! In other K-drama news…

Gong Yoo Running Man Ep 175 preview

1. 7 days till Gong Yoo appears on Running ManAs I mentioned last week, Gong Yoo and his The Suspect co-star Park Hee Soon will be guesting on the famed variety show on 8th December. I am beside myself! For a moment there, we weren’t so sure because of conflicting reports of airdates and cancelled appearances before. But now that a preview is out, it’s a done deal! Here’s a taste of what we’ll see next week, and it looks like there’s a good chance my lovely will get wet…heh.

Gong Yoo Running Man Ep 175 screencapGong Yoo in Running Man Episode 175 Gong Yoo in Running Man

2. Speaking of previews, another highly anticipated drama You Came From the Stars dropped a rather fanservicey one this week featuring soon-to-be everyone’s favourite alien Kim So Hyun brooding in the shower. I guess SBS felt like it needed more ammunition other than the simple fact of this being Hallyu goddess Jeon Ji Hyun‘s return to dramaland after a 14-year absence. In any case, coming from the PD of Painter of the Wind and Tree With Deep Roots and the writer of Queen of Reversals, it sounds like we’ll be in good hands. The drama takes over from Heirs on 18th December.

Kim So Hyun You Who Came From the Stars

3. Reality show Cheongdamdong 111 debuted two weeks ago on cable channel tvN featuring a look into the inner workings of entertainment company FNC Entertainment, home of K-pop bands FTIsland and CNBlue and actors like Lee Dong Gun. The latter and CNBlue’s Jung Yong Hwa are currently starring in the under-appreciated drama Mirae’s Choice (aka Marry Him if You Dare) for which the company is also producing it’s pretty awesome soundtrack. The show promises a behind-the-scenes look at not only the lives of the bands but what goes into moulding a future Hallyu star.

Cheongdamdong 111 Episode 1 screencap

Jung Yong Hwa and Lee Dong Gun chat with the boss in Cheondamdong 111

Cheongdamdong 111 Episode 1 screencap

Jung Yong Hwa and Kang Min Hyuk aka Heirs’s resident cutie pie Chan Young chat over a meal in Cheondamdong 111

Not being a fan of FTIsland or CNBlue, I found the latter to be the most interesting bits of snippets I saw: cowering trainees being scolded by the fearsome “Witch” i.e. their head trainer who cuts them down with icy glares and insults. Just like what you’d expect! As for whether this is put-on for the cameras, who can tell? But just remember that nothing ever airs on television without a script.

oldboy2013poster

3. Spike Lee’s remake of the Korean landmark film Old Boy opened this week in the US to lukewarm reviews. I haven’t seen it myself so I can’t weigh in, only to say that I have liked many of Spike Lee’s films and I intend to see this one. If you haven’t seen the original Park Can Wook film you should. It was one of my first Korean films and I remember the stomach-churning experience of it if not the narrative details. It kicked off my love for Korean genre flicks of the bloody kind. 

4. As a companion piece to last week’s Ideal Korean Man, Eat Your Kimchi dropped What’s the Ideal Korean Woman. Turns out it’s a short list. A really short list. The only requirement–beauty! And I got nothing else to say about this….

5. Did you know that Koreans are the world’s top users of credit cards? And that Jinro Soju is the world’s biggest selling liquor (which makes Koreans the biggest drinkers in the world)? And that there are 2500 match-making companies in Korea? Other factoids in this CNN article 10 Things South Korea Does Best.

14 thoughts on “Weekly OCD Drama Digest 25 Nov – 1 December

  1. I loved School 2013! Glad you enjoyed it too. The bromance was the best thing from that drama (so much so that they decided to forego the schoolyard romance altogether). It was from School that I got to like both Kim Woo Bin and Lee Jong Seok. I feel that Woo Bin’s acting chops are a bit wasted in Heirs but he’s giving it his all and making a really unlikeable character work. But I just can’t go with how the women are treated in Heirs, no matter how good everything looks.

    Like

    • I think School 2013 is going on my list of all-time faves. And yes, I really adored the bromance, but all the other friendships in the drama were just gold too! And I’m so glad they didn’t shoehorn in a romance, and the show was all the better for it. It upended my expectations in that sense since as drama watchers we are so primed to expect a romance everywhere you turn!

      Ah Lee Jong Soek, I think I prefer his performance here than in I Hear Your Voice! He just suited the role perfectly. And yes, Kim Woo Bin is horribly wasted in Heirs but he does get the best lines, and he’s totally won me over by now. I’m with you about the women aspect, I watching that with a boatload of bad taste in mouth! It ruins everything for me.

      Like

  2. School 2013 is definitely one of the best dramas of 2013….loved the bromance and fell in love with Lee Jong Suk…made me misty-eyed so many times…..I watched it in the beginning of the year as it aired…I had one complaint though: it focussed very little on the female students…

    Like

    • Yes the epic bromance made me all sniffly! Lee Jong Seok knocked it out of the park. About the girls, I see what you mean, although I think it’s a factor of how less dramatic the girls’ arcs and struggles were compared to the boys. The girls stories were more intimate, resolved quickly. But yes, the boys do get the spotlight, but hey, I’m not complaining! Especially with Woo Bin in the mix 😛

      Like

  3. Ohh School 2013.. It’s one of my favourite dramas ever. I loved every aspect of it. Jang Na Ra’s character is one of my favourite female characters. It’s the teacher I would like to have in school.. Glad you like it! 🙂
    And I love eatyourkimchi! They are so funny and I love all the korean=related videos they do! And what can I say? Men are men. Haha.. 🙂
    Lastly I need to watch Oldboy (the original). Still haven’t done and everyone says it’s really good..

    Like

    • Oh School is definitely going on my faves list. It’s rightfully earned it’s spot! Yes Jang Nara is a good character although she frustrated me alot. I mean, her bottomless well of patience was so aggravating! I don’t advocate violence, but sometimes, a tight slap is all an ass needs ;P. I loved her relationship with Se Chan, that it was supportive, professional and totally platonic! How refreshing for a drama to not have a romance anywhere! Love that.

      Oh you should watch Oldboy, although I’m not sure it will seem as special as it did when it first came out. Just be ready to feel queasy, with all the erm… blood and erm…other stuff heh.

      Like

  4. SCHOOL 2013!!! One of my all-time faves!! And it’s where I found Woobie ❤ LOVE. THAT. SHOW. I need a rewatch, I really do! SO glad you loved it too!! 😀 (Hey, that last bit rhymes! My inner poet, she’s feeble, but she’s in there, somewhere!)

    Also! GY ON RUNNING MAN. SO MUCH AWESOME. I am so sure he’s gonna be fantastic to watch. That personality, with that playful streak of his? It’ll be GOLD on variety! 😀

    Like

    • Ah yes Woobie is totally love in this drama isn’t he? It’s that grumpypants face he does while knowing that he’s got a squishy underbelly. Makes you wanna poke him just to see him squirm & break into a smile. And Lee Jong Seok too! I think the latter is better here than in I Hear Your Voice. There’s something about this role that just fits him to a tee. He wears it well.

      Ah well, what’s left to say about GY & Running Man except MATCH MADE IN HEAVEN! He’s going to be super competitive too, I can just see it. 😛

      Like

      • Gosh I SO love the bromance between Woobie & Jong Suk in School 2013!!! For that alone, I’d vote School 2013 over IHYV! And Jong Suk as Nam Soon.. Oof. He got me right in the heart, with his barely-holding-it-together, silently stoic sort of way. And Woobie. Gah. He made me cry. Seriously. I LUFF THESE BOYS TOGETHER. ❤❤❤

        Totally agree on GY being competitive!! I think it’ll be reminiscent of the RM episode where Jung Woo Sung came on.. Big movie star takes on the RM team, resulting in hijinks, laughs and lots of awesome. Gah! Can’t wait! 😀

        Like

      • Yeah, I can see why the entire universe basically erupted in huge KWB-LJK love after this drama. Warms me cockles those two! I’m so glad there was no romance because it makes total sense that there would only be room for each other in their hearts at the time, seeing as how they’d been estranged for so long…teehee.

        Ooooh that Jung Woo Sung RM episode was epic, so I do hope you’re right! Did you see GY tackling Haha to the ground in the preview?? There’s his competitive side right there.

        Like

      • Apparently there was a love line planned for Jang Na Ra and Daniel Choi, and that got dropped a few eps into the show. When I first heard about it, I was like, what’s a kdrama without a love line, huh? Huh? HUH?!??

        Ha. Now I totally am on board the no-love-line choice. BROMANCE is all we needed with S2013, seriously. I just LOVED all the Nam Soon-Heung Soo scenes. LOVED!!! And that was when I wasn’t even a Woobie fangirl. I think I might implode with squee during my rewatch, seriously! 😄

        Yes, I saw the tackle!! And the cheeky smile. I hope this RM ep does so awesomely that he’ll consider doing a little more variety. Jung Woo Sung did 2 RM eps, so.. dare we hope?? 😛

        Like

      • I kinda figured that it got dropped because it seemed to hint at it ever so slightly (if you recall that partnered-dodgeball game scene especially) but the drama was not bereft, as the real romance is with them lovely boys!

        Oooh Jung Woo Sung did two eps of RM? I only saw the one he did with Han Hyo Joo, with the watermelon eating and getting his ass handed to him by some bouncing-then-falling-into-lake contraption. HILARIOUS. Mostly because he’s such a strong silent type ;P.

        Like

      • Oh yes, I was very onboard with the decision to drop the romance once I started watching the show. Made the teachers’ relationship that much purer, in terms of simply being about helping each other become better teachers. And the bromance. Ahhh.. All I needed was the bromance, really. Those boys. ❤

        YES Jung Woo Sung did 2 eps of RM!! I believe it was the ep before the watermelon eating. He guested as a “grim reaper” type character, and got to chase down the RM team in all his determined, focused, sweaty glory. You should totally hunt down that ep! ;D

        Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly OCD Drama Digest 2 Dec – 8 December | obsessive compulsive (k)drama-watching disorder

Let's obsess!

