Do Not Watch if You Do Not Ship So Ji Sub & Gong Hyo Jin

I guess once a shipper always a shipper. Why does no one warn you that the delulu may dim but it never truly dies?

This was made for Soompi’s couples forum a.k.a Shipper’s Paradise Valentine’s Day contest by the SoGong couple thread. And it has the best collection of behind-the-scenes footage and interview snippets from The Master’s Sun in one handy and incredibly cute fanmade MV. It made my shippy heart squee just a bit. Okay, a lot.

This is the fourth round and the SoGoners (coz we are ‘so gone’, geddit?) have made it this far along with 5 other couples from an initial pool of 23 couples.

There has been an amazing outpouring of talent throughout the competition, which wouldn’t be surprising to anyone who has ever poked around on a Soompi thread. But I’m still in awe of the creativity on display here–from writing, to art (comics even!), to videos, the k-drama fandom never ceases to amaze me.

The rest of the video submissions are here if you want to check it out. And for an insight into the workings of the delulu SoGoner mind, may I suggest reading the awesome short essay submission from Round 3 because it’s funny and ALL TRUE.

19 thoughts on “Do Not Watch if You Do Not Ship So Ji Sub & Gong Hyo Jin

  1. So um…I recently marathoned Master’s Sun (b/c I was drama watching AWOL for a bit) and LOVED it!!!!!!! I can totally understand the fandom love for this OTP. And seriously…um why aren’t they dating in RL? Ack!!!! So many feeeeeeeeeeeels!!!!!! Thank you for sharing this lovely, lovely, lovely fan vid. ❤❤❤

    Like

    • Oh boy not you too! HAHA. Seriously, right? They are made for each other! Isn’t the vid great??

      Gosh, at the height of my delulu, it was intense. These two made that drama for me, and like it says in the video, the skinship was better offscreen, which was a shame…pooh. It was a tonne of fun though, eagerly waiting for the next behind the scenes clip each week and then salivating. They just looked like they were having so much fun together and this vid captures that perfectly.

      Sadly, I didn’t love the drama as much as you do, but these two are really sumthin’ special in my book. Glad you liked it! 🙂

      Like

      • I think that because I marathoned it, it was better than waiting each week. I do wish that the BTS skinship had made it into the drama. I found the drama fairly refreshing and had some really lovely ghost stories. It was well paced and ended satisfactorily. I was content with it. I do LOVE them together though!

        Like

      • Hmm yes I can see this one working well as a marathon. I did like it alot, and although for me I don’t think the Hong Sisters knocked it out of the park, I’m thankful it wasn’t as bad as Big ;). I loved the vanity ghost story, that was fun. And the water ghost one, coz that was a fab episode too with that lovely poolside scene :D. Oh boy maybe I like this drama more than I thought!!

        Oh yes and it had a neat little ending which defnitely deserves some kudoes, complete with a bow tie–so CUTE!!

        Like

      • I think they had to play it safe after the Big catastrophe. It was a very pleasant watch without severe makjang and craziness. It had all the good elements of a drama without being totally amazing. And of course the lovely OTP. I also really enjoyed the side characters who weren’t severely annoying.

        Like

      • Oh I so agree bout the side characters. I loved that about the second leads, both of whom were really really cute. Same for his family members and sec Kim (aka the Alfred to Joogun’s Bruce Wayne). They helped keep things fun and fresh.

        Like

  2. Ddeeeeeeee!..that’s a very nice vid of GYJ and SJS…tbh, i haven’t finish the drama yet and i only watched about 5 eps of it coz the dvd in my room is broken and i couldn’t do the marathoning in the living room with my parents around ..i’m too much of an addict and i’m gonna eat the whole day til midnight…so you could imagine how my eomma, appa and the rest will feel….hehehehe…

    ..i haven’t read any article about this two dating are they for real?…coz the last article i read about GHJ is that SJS had introduced her to Song Seung Hun?…it appeared that SJS and SSH are close friends….

    Like

    • Oh no I do hope you get to finish the series soon. It’s worth a watch, even if it’s just for the magical chemistry of these two together. It gets better after ep 5 IMO.

      As for dating for real, who knows?? No official news but oh well, that doesn’t stop me from crossing my fingers. Yes, SJS is besties with SSH so I’m not surprised if they met, but thanks for sharing that tidbit, I hadn’t read bout that. Maybe they all hang out together??

      Like

      • …well there’s a a possibility since GHJ and SJS are having fond for each other even off-cam but then when SJS worried about his bestie SSH of not interested getting an RL partner he introduced GHJ to SSH…GHJ agreed to have a coffee with SSH somewhere in Gangnam as usual the media went wild and plastered the incident as “scandal”…i am wondering if being a K-celeb is too much?…is it shameful to have coffee with someone?…oh my they are also human and have the right to enjoy things like that……though i prefer shipping GHj to SJS..hehehe..they look adorable together…why is he worried for SSH?..probably he has someone special already?…y’know what amazes me with k-hunk is that he raps…despite his meek looking this man loves hip-hop!…isn’t him adorable doing extraordinaire talent?…just want to share this vid…they are old ones but this one is resent…

        Like

      • So sorry for the late reply, it’s been a hectic weekend! But to continue the convo, yeah K-celebs definitely are held to greater scrutiny than Hollywood or other western celebs IMO, and I can’t imagine how hard it is to live under those conditions.

        Thanks for the vid, I can’t recall if I’ve seen that one or not. SJS definitely has a passion for music and I think his sincerity shines through here. He is adorably shy too haha.

        Like

  3. “Why does no one warn you that the delulu may dim but it never truly dies?” – the truest words that have ever been spoken XD

    Love this video, but now I’m watching this with my sad shipper heart quietly weeping cause we’ve all heard about Gong Hyo Jin and Lee Jin Wook dating. Although I’m totally a supporter of the real life couple, I can’t help but feel that all that glorious chemistry that So Ji Sub and Gong Hyo Jin had on the set of TMS has gone to waste. Well, okay not completely to waste because we did get a pretty enjoyable OTP in the drama, but just imagine the potential of that chemistry…*sigh*

    Like

    • Ahh fellow shipper, come, sit beside me and we shall weep together and comfort each other in our time of need :(. Yes, at the end of the day, we shall always have the drama! And they had a rip-roaring time working together and that can’t be faked, and that much is true. So hurray for the new couple too!

      Like

Let's obsess!

