Trot Lovers Starts Today, & Other News: the OCDrama Digest 18th – 23rd June 2014

Another week, another slew of drama premiers!

1. Trot Lovers is set to air in a matter of minutes, and judging by a long preview, it looks set to be a feast of campy, slapsticky fun. I can enjoy camp, and if done well with an actual storyline and sparks of delightful, zany chemistry to tie things all together which Eun Ji and Ji Hyun Woo certainly look capable of, this should go down a treat. Possibly. Hopefully. Eun Ji plays the simple, unsophisticated trot singer to Ji Hyun Woo’s snobby hotshot pro. Guess who falls for whom first?

Here’s a taste at what we’ll see tonight:

If you can’t wait for subs, Scattered Jooni’s back and doing the valuable service of writing up live recaps! And someone should do a Fugly-cap of this show. There’s so much sequins and floral ensembles here that are just begging to be celebrated. 

2. Joseon Gunman stills These gorgeous stills of Joseon Gunman aren’t helping to quell my thirst for the drama. I can’t get enough of the pretty that KBS is dishing out in their promos for this drama. Just look at them! I dare say that expectations are through the roof for this one, exacerbated by the achingly gorgeous and exciting trailers they’ve been steadily unveiling. Thankfully, I won’t have to wait much longer because it’s starting THIS WEDNESDAY. Call me crazy but I won’t be live watching this or any other drama for the moment since I’ve planned some marathons. But I’m pretty sure I will be checking out the first couple of episodes, especially with Lee Jun Ki switching between hanbok and this look!

Joseon Gunman screencap

Credit: Soompi

 

3. 

Marriage Not Dating has not been on my radar, but I did perk up to learn that Han Groo is in this upcoming tvN rom-com as I did enjoy her performance in the wonderful Can We Get Married?. She co-starts with Yeo Woo Jin with whom I’m not familiar but I’m eager to get to know just by his self-satisfied smirk in this rather hilarious teaser. This one boasts a contract relationship between a man who doesn’t want to get married and his fake girlfriend he enlists to get his parents off his back. Shenanigans ensue. Not sure about the PD and writer credentials but the marketing is working, I hafta say. Marriage Not Dating airs 4th July.

4. It’s summertime! And that means…shorts. Fugly shorts. This is another fashion trend that I will have to steel myself for. Here, have some hot men (Park Hae Jin and Seo Kang Joon) in some very fugly shorts.

 

Park Hae Jin  Seo Kang Joon

Let's obsess!

