Sisterhood of Blogging Buddies Award!

Sisterhood of the World_zpsqt7wixy7

I’m stealing this from KFangurl *smooches*. Thank you!

Okay, that’s not exactly what the award’s called but it’s what it feels like to me!

I’m catching up with a backlog of posts y’all! And as this one desperately needed to be written a looong time ago, first, I hafta say sorry for the delay, and second, thanks for nominating me!  I love you all! Let’s not dilly dally, and get on with it shall we?

First one’s from KFangurl!

1. If you didn’t have a blog, how would you be spending your spare time?

Since my blog hasn’t been taking up any of my time of late, I kinda wonder what I’ve been doing with my spare time. I mean, I must have some because I do do stuff. Like, eat. And cook. And sleep. Right?

2. Do your family, friends, and colleagues know about your blog? Why or why not? And if they do know about it, what do they think?

The hubs obviously knows, and after a brief period of looking at me funny, he actually became really supportive to the point of drawing up plans for (blogging) world domination. (I had to talk him down from the ledge.) A couple of others do know, but they’ve never seen the blog despite hounding me for the URL. They are amused by it, but that’s about it, and it’s not something I want to tell the world about. Dramas, and by extension this blog, are my lil’ secret pleasure thing :).

3. Have you met blogosphere friends in Real Life? If yes, what was that like? If not, would you want to, given the chance?

Yes! I met you and Nelly! IT WAS SO GREAT. Remember how we entertained the food court drink seller with our laughter?  MOAR PLEASE.

4. If money were no object, what gift would you give to a loved one (significant other, family, friend; you pick), and why?

Hmm… I’d suppose I’d give a whole bunch of money to my sis for my nephew’s education cos he’s a special kid 🙂

5. Since this is a sisterhood type of award, who’s your favorite female celeb (actress, singer, comedienne, doesn’t matter), and what do you love about her?

Hmm I don’t quite have a favourite, but I do really like Amy Poehler who is funny, talented (I loved Parks & Recreation) and especially because she’s a feminist and her work reflects that. Have you seen her youtube channel called Smart Girls? Its aimed at young girls, and it celebrates all kinds of girls and all forms of girlhood, and she even does an Ask Amy series where she gives advicee to girls who ask her life questions with great candour, sincerity and wisdom.

Second’s from Splashie:

1. Who is your favorite drama writer and why?

Me Too Flower poster!

Me Too Flower! Power

This one’s easy! Kim Do Woo! She of Kim Sam Soon and Me Too Flower! two of my favourite-est dramas ever! I’ve seen every one of her dramas (save one, which I will do very soon), and I love how she doesn’t write wallflowers, she always centres the heroine and allows them to be all sorts of things in ways you don’t see in most conventional dramas. I love how affirming of life and love she always is, and how her heroines learn to love their men, but more importantly, themselves as well. She has a remarkable gift for dialogue too. For e.g. this wonderful, evocative line is from her 2003 melodrama Snowman: “Do you know how I’m feeling? I’m feeling all warm inside, like freshly made bread.” I think because she mostly writes rom-coms, people underrate the emotional heft in her work because she can be so effortlessly bubbly and entertaining. I mean, Snowman had the most devastating depiction of loss I’ve ever seen anywhere! She’s not great with plots, but plots are hardly the point with her work. I’ve thought a little about what seems to be her recurring themes on tumblr, but I really should gather my scattered thoughts and write them down properly. I’ll shuddup now….

2. Do you have a drama character that has stayed with you? Do you see yourself in that character?

Cha Bong Sun: I like a gal who likes her food

Ooh tough question. I love many characters for different reasons, but the ones the ones that have stayed with me the most, the ones that got under my skin are Cha Bong Sun, the heroine of Me Too Flower! and since I just finished it, from Beloved, Seo Chan Joo. Both very different on the surface, but both are deeply sad, and lonely, and unhappy with themselves to the point of self-loathing. But they never throw themselves a pity party, and ultimately, they are kind, loving and most importantly, resilient. Do I see myself in them? Well, I suppose I’m hard on myself too, and I love eating just as much as Cha Bong Sun does :).

2. Do you like sageuk? If so, which is your favorite, and has the genre made you interested in Korean History?

I have very limited experience with sageuk so I can’t say. And I don’t really consider Chuno a traditional sageuk, so I don’t think I’ve even finished one. Yet. I can say that it’s a genre that I don’t naturally seek out though, but Chuno did make me google a few details about the time.

3. What are your professional aspirations?

At the moment, all I’m really hoping to do is to get rid of a rather pesky client. If I send them off packing happy, then I will be happy.  And I want to be happy 🙂

4. Do you have an album that you listen to that makes you happy? Sad?

I have more albums that make me sad than happy simply because during the height of my music-consumption days when I was in-tune, on-the-ball and up-to-date, I was gravitating towards depresso stuff. So Sparklehorse and Elliot Smith albums make me sad (more so now because they died, in appropriately tragic fashion) but in good ways still because it’s great music. As for what makes me happy, Perfume gets me going in the morning, and Tricot makes me headbang while I’m driving to work and back, which I love to do :D.

5. If you had to be an idol, what company would you choose and why? (The key here is the why, not the where…)

None of them? Or whichever one could school me on developing skills like producing, song-writing, directing etc, skills that would help craft a long, fruitful career? And where I wouldn’t be locked into ridiculous contracts?

6. Which actors/actresses do you find underrated? What kind of drama would you like them to star in? 

EEEK. Can’t think at the moment. Han Chae Ah made the most out of a thankless role in Mirae’s Choice and I’d like to see her in a drama that doesn’t insult my intelligence.

7. Would you rather have the chance to travel anywhere in a single country or only to a single city in any country?

Single city. More reach that way.

8. How have the internet, social media, and blogging changed the way you think about the world?

The speed of the internet and social media has cheapened communication, and has made it harder to treasure something that takes almost no time and almost no effort to seek out and learn about. On the other hand, people have found community online which is for me, probably the greatest outcome.

9. Do you have any tips for new bloggers? What helps you write?

I’m hardly the right person to give any tips to newbies, but I’d say, first, think twice because it’s more time-consuming than you think, and second, have fun! As for what helps me write, well, I learned something handy from Martha Beck, which applies to all writing not just blogging, is to make it your goal to just churn out a shitty first draft. Once I tell myself it only has to be shitty, the pressure’s off and I can just roll with it.

Last is from Lee Jin!

1. What was your first ever k-drama and back then what did you think about it? Imagine, what if, that drama didn’t air back then, but is airing now – would your review about the drama still be the same?

My first drama was Innocent Man/Nice Guy shortly after it aired. It wasn’t too long ago, so yeah, my review would be pretty much the same–moments of greatness, moments of WTF-ery, a terrific cast, terribly classy and memorable soundtrack, a solid revenge melo overall, and sticks with me cos of Song Joong Ki, who turns in a convincing performance of a tortured hero with this ridiculous cutie pie face:

Song Joong Ki in Innocent Man

2. Name me one drama you’ve watched till the last episode, but regretted watching it. If there isn’t any, name me one drama you swore not to watch, but ended up watching and loving it.

HEIRS. HEIRS. HEIRS. I did actually like it at one point, though. Honestly.

3. What is the most difficult thing about running a kdrama blog?

The fact that I need to be watching shows in order to keep it going, which y’know, is sometimes hard to do.

4. Name me three actors (male or female) who you like best, and why.

CP_Ep1_06

Oooh! Gong Yoo because he’s my beloved Choi Han Kyul!

5. If you were a writer, is there any particular plot you want to write about? Who would you cast in it and why? 

Hmmm well, perhaps not a plot, but probably characters within a coming-of-age story, where a young girl has to learn a few things about life the hard way. Oh and during the height of the Healer madness, I remember Sarah and I were talking about a what if scenario where the Ahjumma role was the main character, and she falls in love with Jung Hoo/Healer whom she has never met but knows everything about, tragic backstory included. That sounds like it would be pretty fun, right? As for cast, how about Han Chae Ah as ahjumma?

6. Is there any drama that you’ve watched, and you think that it is underrated?

It’s terrific timing to answer this question because I just finished Beloved a.k.a Dear You (2012) and it’s quite possibly the most moving, understatedly devastating and ultimately uplifting melodrama I’ve yet seen. And nobody has seen it save one other person I know! It’s about love and all the ways people who love each other can hurt each other deeply. I’d highly recommend watching it if you like your melos low-key, substantive and emotionally riveting.

7. Name me three of your all-time favorite dramas. 

How about five? Read about ’em here: Favourites .

8. Why do you like watching kdramas? Do you watch dramas of other languages, and if you do – what is the main difference between those and kdramas?

Ah a great question! During my K-slump these few months, I’ve been turning my attention to some J-dramas with which I seem to have much better luck. I’m a J-newbie, so I’m wary of generalising, and we have to consider my own tastes as well, but to me, the J-dramas that I really like don’t razzle and dazzle like K-dramas. And I don’t think it’s a matter of having much smaller production budgets, but rather, of having a different sensibility. The Js that I’ve seen trust in the strength of their story, no matter how simple and small, to stay the course (unlike many Ks which derail halfway), and excel in mood, script and character detail. Some episodes I’ve seen are downright ingenious! I mean the opening episode of Mondai No Aru Restaurant (FujiTV, 2015) for example, introduces SEVEN characters and initiates the set-up while juggling multiple timelines/perspectives and still manages to be intriguing and funny without losing the audience!

9. Just for fun, if you get to be in someone’s body for a day – which actor (male/female) would you be? Why?

Park Shin Hye? Because she gets to cosy up to Lee Jung Sook? Who is besties with Kim Woo Bin, which means I’d get to sidle up to him too? Can you say, threesome?!

tumblr_murs8fzMMd1qfakbgo2_r1_250

10. Which drama are you looking forward to currently?

Ooh! Cheese in the Trap for the Coffee Prince PD who seems to be back working steadily and growing with confidence, and Descendents of the Sun for Song Joong Ki!!

Thanks so much once again guys for the noms! I love you all, and to those who are still with me despite my erratic and sporadic appearances, I love you as well!

9 thoughts on “Sisterhood of Blogging Buddies Award!

    • Awww shucks sweetie, thank you so much *smooches*. Nice to know I was missed. I’m happy to be back too! Why are you not watching anything? Self-imposed or just RL business or all of the above?

      Liked by 1 person

      • RL business mostly. I wouldn’t say self-imposed but with all that is going on in my life right now, I feel to edgy to sit down and just binge on shows. And without realizing it, 2-3 months have passed. And funnily (or not?) life with dramas is actually still life hahaha.

        Like

      • Ah sounds like Life Transition Syndrome :). Good luck with adjusting and all that. Life without dramas is still life, true enough, and it’s still pretty good!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Aw.. thanks for answering my questions, though the happier thing is that you’re back and posting! ;D

    YES, I do remember the drink stall owner being quite amused by us; we can go back again and entertain ’em some more, next time you’re around these parts 😉 And YES, it sounds so logical, but it’s still a drama blogger’s big realization: we DO need to keep watching dramas in order to keep the blog going! I’m still tinkering with a balance that I find sustainable, but I’m definitely better off now than when I only wrote monster reviews!

    Like

    • It sounds like you’ve definitely found the right balance at the rate you are watching AND blogging, so bravo!! I haven’t yet found mind, but the groove will come, surely. I dunno when I’ll be able to make a non-work related trip down South, but when I do, we must do our best to er, entertain other F&B purveyors 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Let's obsess!

